The McNair Scholars Program is designed to prepare qualified UT Arlington undergraduates for graduate study culminating in the Ph.D. The program thus provides many benefits to assist scholars to become more competitive in the graduate school application process, leading to their admission to top-ranked programs and facilitating a smooth integration into graduate-level work.

In creating the Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program, the U.S. Congress paid tribute to Dr. Ronald McNair, an astronaut and scientist who perished aboard the space shuttle Challenger in 1986. The goal of the McNair program is to assist promising students from low-income/first-generation or under-represented backgrounds to enter the professoriate. It was founded on the premise that neither socio-economic nor minority status should prevent talented students from pursuing a career in teaching and research at the college or university level.

The McNair Scholars Program at UT Arlington was funded by the U.S. Department of Education in 1990. It is one of approximately 150 McNair programs at public and private colleges and universities throughout the United States.

The program works with a minimum of 34 Scholars each academic year. It recruits new participants from all majors (in which one might earn a Ph.D.) each fall for spring admission. The program particularly encourages science, technology, engineering and mathematics majors to apply. McNair Scholars remain active members of the program until they graduate with a bachelor of arts or science.

Sub-communities within this community

Recent Submissions

  • University of Texas at Arlington McNair Scholars Research Journal 2016 

    Papers: Saul Gutierrez, Adrian Villalobos, Prince Osuchukwu, Micalah Spenrath; Abstracts: Jaclyn Bazaldua, Tristen Cardwell, Claudia Carranza, Sydney Cox, Katie Kang, Minwoo Kim, Nicolas E. Long, Claudia Martinez, Jessica McCammon, Kayleigh Miranda (University of Texas at Arlington Library MavOpenPressCentral Library, The University of Texas at Arlington, 2017)